Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick | Book Review

Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
Second book in the Hush, Hush saga

Crescendo

*Warning*ย Spoilers for both Hush, Hush and Crescendo. Read at your own risk.

Synopsis:

Nora Grey’s life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn’t pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it. A mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He’s more elusive than ever (if that’s possible) and what’s worse, he seems to be spending time with Nora’s archenemy, Marcie Millar.

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Patch hadn’t been acting so distant. Even with Scott’s totally infuriating attitude, Nora finds herself drawn to him – despite her lingering feelings that he is hiding something.

If that weren’t enough, Nora is haunted by images of her murdered father, and comes to question whether her Nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death. Desperate to figure out what happened, she puts herself in increasingly dangerous situations to get the answer. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything – and everyone – she trusts.

โ€”โ€“SPOILERS! โ€”โ€”
*Warning* Ranting ahead.

I wanted to kill everyone.
I am not even sugar-coating anything. I just wanted to punch everyone character in the face. Nora especially.

Nora is like the girls in horror movies that you scream at not to open the door or not to go down into the basement, but they do it anyways. The only thing with Nora is I found her five hundred times worse. At least the girls in the movies knew they couldn’t handle everything by themselves Nora on the other hand tries so hard not to be “weak” that she’s reckless. There’s a difference between being a strong independent person and just being downright stupid. When someone tells her to do something it’s always, “No way! I can take care of myself!” and then a few pages later she gets hurt and needs Patch jumping in to save her. Nora, you can’tย take care of yourself, is it really that hard just to listen to what someone says for once in your life? Didn’t think so.

She was constantly annoying me and Becca Fitzpatrick kept adding pointless drama between her and Patch. Nora would say something stupid to push Patch away and then go on and on and on for pages and pages about how much she loves and misses him but also hates him. And there’s more, she also blamed everything on Patch. She didn’t stop once to think maybe it was her fault their relationship was so screwed up. She expected him to just run back to her and apologize for something she did. Um, what? Get your act together and stop being a whiny bitch.

Now Patch wasn’t all that different. He also made their relationship pretty screwed up too, but I guess it was mostly the archangels fault that he ended up “dating” Marcie Millar. But even so I can’t get over how Nora has no right to be so jealous. She’s the one who broke up with him. And yes, I know she blamed her decision on the archangels but still she truly didn’t think her and Patch were ever going to work out she would’ve tried harder to get over him and stop being so jealous. I know Marcie is her all time enemy (which I honestly do not get) but she makes it seem like he broke up with her and he didn’t. Furthermore, Nora doesn’t TRUST him and always makes assumptions without actually stopping to ask him. How can she expect a good relationship when she’s constantly thinking Patch is trying to kill her?

Another thing that bothered me was Becca Fitzpatrick’s constant need to describe cars. I don’t really care about car details. You could simply write “he drove a black car” or something and I’d totally be okay with that. But no, it has to be a full on explanation of the car. It’s a really minor thing but I think I was so pissed off at this book that I was looking for anything else to make me more mad.

There were so many times I just wanted to chuck the book out the window. I just couldn’t handle it. I’d list more of my problems with this book but then this wouldn’t be a review.

It would be a full on rant.ย 

Which it probably already is, but I will say I did actually like one character in this book.ย 

And that would be Marcie Millar.

Now I gave Hush, Hush 4 stars in Goodreads but now I’m starting to rethink my decision and wonder if it was just me forcing myself to like the book without actually stopping and looking at all its flaws.

In short, I was very disappointed with this book. I’m sorry if I was ranting on about your favorite series but I just personally couldn’t handle it. I will however continue with the series, I really hope it gets better. Feel free to comment your thoughts on Crescendo or your overall review of the Hush, Hush series please try to keep things spoiler free though!

1 out of 5 stars

โ˜…

Buyย Crescendo

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Nobles

Buy the Complete Hush, Hush Saga

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Nobles

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADSย | BLOGLOVINย | WATTPAD

2 thoughts on “Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick | Book Review

Leave a Reply

