Wonder by R.J. Palacio | TBR Jar Picks

My August TBR Jar pick was Wonder by R.J. Palacio! You can read my review of the book here.

For a brief review, I really enjoyed the book. I fell in love with so many of the characters. August’s parents and his sister, and his friends. It was just so amazing and I totally recommend the book to everyone in the whole world.

The author did an amazing job describing middle school, because when I was August’s age or when I was starting middle school (which wasn’t that long ago since middle school was 7th grade for me) school was mostly about being popular and fitting in and who had the most friends because you’re in this new school with all of these new students and you are trying to impress them with your “cool” clothes and “cool” makeup or whatever. Basically in middle school it was a given fact that if you weren’t popular you weren’t cool. And I really hate that now that I think about it, because honestly what does popularity even mean? Good looks? Many friends? Who gets to judge who is considered “popular” or not? If it’s me, then I think I’m popular because I have some of the most amazing friends who I love to death and I would do pretty much anything for them and I hope they love and would do almost anything for me as well.

I remember in both elementary (K-6 for me) and middle school (7-8) so many kids trying to fit in and to be apart of the “popular” kid group. I will admit I was one of them in elementary school, but like half way through the year I discovered I honestly couldn’t care less how many friends I had and I didn’t really like anyone who was considered apart of the “popular” crowd. I realized they weren’t people I wanted to be friends with. It’s also about the time I really got into reading books and I became closer with now some of my best friends. I really admire August’s story and I think everyone should read it.

There’s a quote that August’s mom says and I mentioned it in my review as well,

“There are always going to be jerks in the world, Auggie,” she said, looking at me. “But I really believe, and Daddy really believes, that there are more good people on this earth than bad people, and the good people watch out for each other and take care of each other.”

I really hope that there is more good people than bad in the world and that school and popularity is just this phase every kid goes through and everyone realizes that what’s important isn’t your clothes, or your looks, or how many friends you have, because honestly when you have so many “friends” how do you spend time with all of them? My hope is that people realize what’s most important in life. It’s not something someone can tell you, it’s something that you must figure out yourself. Because everyone is different. Everyone has something of importance that is different, whether it’s your family or your friends. Family is almost always there for you, whether you want them or not, but popularity? It’s constantly fleeting. You could be loved by everyone one day and then hated by everyone the next day. But family? And your true friends? They are always there.

Sorry to get so sappy on you guys! I tried to keep my regular review very opinion free (probably didn’t do a good job on that!) so I put all my other thoughts I had that I couldn’t fit into the book review on this post, and it is actually much longer than my actual review. Oops?
Anyways, I hope you enjoyed reading this and for those of you who read my August Update you’ll know I picked the next book from my TBR hat. However I have decided that since I have so many other books to read, I’m going to donate Starfish by James Crowley because I honestly wasn’t really motivated to read it and I feel really bad! But it’s something I have decided on since I really don’t want to force myself to read a book I’m not interested in. And the next book I picked is…
*insert drumroll*

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn! I will admit I’m a bit nervous reading this since I didn’t find out until after I bought the book that Gone Girl is actually an adult novel. I just read the synopsis and thought it looked interesting because I’m a sucker for thriller mysteries. I hope it’s not too bad? Or that it’ll be hard to understand or anything, I never actually know what an “adult” novel is. Mature content? Adult Characters? Lots of curse words? Who knows.

Anyways thanks so much for reading and I will talk to you guys in my next post! Bye, happy reading!

file

Synopsis:
(from GoodReads)

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

Buy Wonder

Book Depository
Barnes and Nobles
Amazon

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN | WATTPAD

Leave a Reply

