Princess Academy by Shannon Hale | Book Review

Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

Genre: Fantasy
Publication Date: 2005

1866232

Synopsis:
(from GoodReads)

Miri lives on a mountain where for generations her ancestors have quarried stone and lived a simple life. Then word comes that the king’s priests have divined her small village the home of the future princess. In a year’s time, the prince himself will come and choose his bride from among the girls of the village. The king’s ministers set up an academy on the mountain, and every teenage girl must attend and learn how to become a princess.
Miri soon finds herself confronted with a harsh academy mistress, bitter competition among the girls, and her own conflicting desires to be chosen and win the heart of her childhood best friend. But when bandits seek out the academy to kidnap the future princess, Miri must rally the girls together and use a power unique to the mountain dwellers to save herself and her classmates.

Spoiler Free

I was 9 when I first read this book (back in 2009) and honestly now that I think about it this book completely changed my life. I was always a reader when I was younger but I wasn’t someone who read daily. I hadn’t found that one book yet, the one book that opens your eyes and makes you see the beauty and magic of reading.

For most people who book was probably Harry Potter but for me it’s Princess Academy, Princess Academy was my one book. I fell in love with Shannon Hale’s writing and her world. I love Miri she’s such a strong female character, someone the younger me wish she could be.
Someone who was strong and brave even if she doubted herself. She could put bitterness and anger behind her and do the right thing no matter what.

I just absolutely love this book and now that I read it again I’ve picked up more things that I didn’t notice when I was 9.

I realized that sometimes it’s hard to find your strength. The strength for living, to keep going on. But it’s there, you just can’t see it. You have found it, we find it through our loved ones. Our friends and family. Like Miri, she found her strength through the people around her.

This book got me into reading more and more. It got me to go out of my comfort zone and read more challenging books. It taught me the beauty and magic of books and I’m so glad I read it.

Without even realizing it Shannon Hale changed my life and I am so thankful.

5 out of 5 stars

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

Buy Princess Academy

Book Depository
Barnes and Nobles
Amazon

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADSΒ | BLOGLOVINΒ | WATTPAD

Leave a Reply

