Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn | Book Review

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Publication Date: 2012

Gone_Girl_(Flynn_novel)

Synopsis:
(from GoodReads)

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

This book probably has the most toxic relationship that I’ve ever read about. If I’m being completely honest, I didn’t like Amy or Nick. They were both nightmares to read about, which I know is what Gillian Flynn wanted, for us to hate the characters. Usually, if I absolutely hate the characters in a story, I’ll give up and move on with my life. And I would have with Gone Girl too if I wasn’t so determined to finish it.

Do I regret reading it? No. It’s definitely different from many books I’ve read before. I’ve never read a book with such a screwed up relationship before and it was a nice learning experience. But I will admit that it was hard for me to finish a chapter without the urge to throw the book across the room. That’s how much I hated everyone.

It was an okay book. The beginning was very slow, but I could understand that Gillian Flynn was trying to show us Amy and Nick’s messed up relationship. Everything in this book was built on lies. Lie after lie, after lie. I was always questioning what was real or not real. My brain is thoroughly messed with. Thanks, Gillian Flynn.

Gone Girl has a nice message of how looks can be deceiving, but I can’t get over my hatred for the characters. The ending was also a huge disappointment if I’m being honest. A part of me feels sorry for both characters, but a bigger part of me doesn’t even care. I just wanted the book over and done with so I could move on without questions haunting me.

I still have some questions, but I’ll move on.

Overall, an okay book. Some parts were entertaining while other parts had me pulling my hair out. I don’t know if I’ll be picking up Gillian Flynn’s other books. We’ll see.

2.5 out of 5 stars

★★½

Buy Gone Girl

Book Depository
Barnes and Nobles
Amazon

Back in September 2014 I had picked Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn from my TBR Jar. It is now January 2015 and I have finally finished it! My next TBR pick is…

*dramatic drumroll*

The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer! Now I’ve heard there’s a sequel to this book, Lord of Opium, which I don’t own. I’ve looked it up on GoodReads and it’s gotten a lot of mixed reviews so I don’t know if I’ll pick it up or not. But again, we’ll see. I just have so many books to read so I’ve been very selective on what to spend my time on and what not. I’ll definitely read House of the Scorpion since I own it already, but it’d be great to know how bad or good the sequel is so if I pre-buy it I won’t regret it.

Did you guys like the sequel to House of the Scorpion? Is it worth me buying it and spending my time reading it? Thanks for reading! I hope you guys have a great day!

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN | WATTPAD

One thought on “Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn | Book Review

Leave a Reply

