Monthly Update | January 2015

January Update 2015

Currently Reading:

  1. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

Books Read in January:

  1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
    Read my review of Gone Girl here
    ★★½ (2.5 out of 5 stars)
  2. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover
    ★★★★½ (4.5 out of 5 stars)
  3. The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, and Maureen Johnson
    ★★★★ (4 out of 5 stars)

    What Really Happened in Peru (#1) ★★★
    The Runaway Queen (#2) ★★
    Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale (#3) ★★★★
    The Midnight Heir (#4) ★★★★
    The Rise of the Hotel Dumort (#5) ★★★
    Saving Raphael Santiago (#6) ★★★★
    The Fall of the Hotel Dumort (#7) ★★★
    What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (#8) ★★★★
    The Last Stand of the New York Institute (#9) ★★★★★
    The Course of True Love [and First Dates] (#10) ★★★★
    The Voicemail of Magnus Bane (#11) ★★★★

February TBR:

  1. Bloodlines by Richelle Mead
  2. Undivided (Unwind #4) by Neal Shusterman
  3. The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer

GoodReads Reading Challenge Progress:

So far I’ve read 14 books out of my goal of 75 this year and according to GoodReads I am 8 books ahead of schedule. Yay! 11 of the books I’ve read are novellas from The Bane Chronicles so I’m thinking of not counting them in the end when the year is over, but we shall see.

Books I Bought/Received in January:

  1. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover
  2. This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
  3. White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  4. Atlantia by Ally Condie
  5. The Pirate’s Wish (The Assassin’s Curse #2) by Cassandra Rose Clarke
  6. I Was Here by Gayle Forman

TBR Jar Pick:

Back in September 2014 I had picked Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn from my TBR Jar. It is now February 2015 and I have finally finished it! My next TBR pick is…

*dramatic drumroll*

The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer! Now I’ve heard there’s a sequel to this book, Lord of Opium, which I don’t own. I’ve looked it up on GoodReads and it’s gotten a lot of mixed reviews so I don’t know if I’ll pick it up or not. But again, we’ll see. I just have so many books to read so I’ve been very selective on what to spend my time on and what not. I’ll definitely read House of the Scorpion since I own it already, but it’d be great to know how bad or good the sequel is so if I pre-buy it I won’t regret it.

Did you guys like the sequel to House of the Scorpion? Is it worth me buying it and spending my time reading it?

The beginning of this month will be super busy for me because I will be taking my permit test on February 11th and I’m very nervous. This is my second time taking the test (I failed my first time D:) so I really want to focus on reading the driving book. That means not a lot of reading or blogging until it’s done! Wish me luck! I really hope I can do it. *fingers crossed*

I’m sure many of you are probably older than me so if you would like to tell me about your first permit/driver test experience that would be great!

Thanks for reading! I hope you guys have a great day!

P.S. If anyone knows where I can still buy a paperback copy of The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke that would be great! I bought the second book thinking I’d buy the first one from another website, but it was sold out too. I really wish I had bought it sooner.

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN | WATTPAD

Leave a Reply

