The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith | Book Review

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Genre: Contemporary
Publication Date: 2014

image

Synopsis:
(from GoodReads)

Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

Lucy and Owen’s relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and — finally — a reunion in the city where they first met.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith’s new novel shows that the center of the world isn’t necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.

–Minor Spoilers! Read at your own risk!–

The Geography of You and Me was a cute and romantic story that I did find myself enjoying at times. But it does have a fair share of problems.

First of all, I did not find it very realistic. Not only is there instalove/instalike, there are also parents who let their kids run wild with someone they hardly know (seriously, Lucy and Owen knew each other for like THIRTY minutes! They barely even spent a day together!) and are completely okay with it. Did I mention that both Owen and Lucy’s parents don’t know the person their kid likes? For all they know they could be an axe murderer! But nope, it’s totally okay since my child is happy. I’ll just completely trust this random stranger with my son/daughter.

Um, what?

No. I’m sorry life does not and should not work like that.

Everything worked out so perfectly for the couple. Too perfectly to seem realistic.Β I also found Owen and Lucy’s voices to be pretty bland and uninteresting most of the time. There were some parts I found myself enjoying a bit and crack a little smile, but then I’d think about the instalove and cringe again.

Overall, this book is good if you’re looking for a quick read. The romance is there, even though it is a bit unrealistic, it was cute. I just personally didn’t find the book very memorable. There are so many contemporary books that are similar and sometimes they all blend together. This one will probably go on my long list of books I won’t remember.

2.5 out of 5 stars

β˜…β˜…Β½

Buy The Geography of You and Me

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Nobles

I think I’m going to take a little break from contemporary for a while. The genre has been losing its spark for me lately. Perhaps I’m just not as interested in just romance books anymore.Β Maybe I’ll pick up another Jennifer E. Smith book sometime in the future.

I’m still planning on reading To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han since it’s my next TBR Jar pick, but it probably won’t be a main priority because it’s a contemporary romance. We’ll see!

I definitely won’t be giving up contemporary romances altogether, there are some days I crave a simple cute romance story, but for now I’m craving some action and adventure. I see some fantasy in my near future! I’m excited!

Have you read The Geography of You and Me? Or any other Jennifer E. Smith books? Should I give her another chance? Tell me your thoughts in the comments!

Happy reading! πŸ™‚

image3

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADSΒ | BLOGLOVINΒ | WATTPAD

Leave a Reply

