Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch | Book Review

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Genre: Fantasy
Publication Date: 2014

17399160

Synopsis:
(from GoodReads)

A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winteriansโ€™ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winterโ€™s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winterโ€™s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winteriansโ€™ general, Sir. Training to be a warriorโ€”and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather โ€” she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winterโ€™s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, sheโ€™s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as sheโ€™s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesnโ€™t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics โ€“ and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

–Possible Spoilers! Read at your own risk!–

“Even the strongest blizzard starts with a single snowflake.”

Like many other fantasy books out there this book was a ton of fun! It’s nothing that’s completely original but honestly what is these days. It is however, a very fun fantasy adventure that I really enjoyed reading. The world is so complex and intricate, but Sara Raasch does an amazing job explaining it to us.

There were a lot of info dumps, which most of the time give me massive headaches but with Snow Like Ashes I didn’t really mind them. I was completely sucked into the world and I loved learning new things about it. The eight kingdoms and their conduits were really cool to learn about, I liked how some conduits were female only and some were male only. Very inconvenient honestly. It was all very interesting and I really want to meet they rest of the Kings and Queens!

The main character of Snow Like Ashes is Meira and I absolutely loved her character. She’s such a freaking badass! She truly wants to fight for her kingdom and it really made me mad when William (Sir) would deny her that. She wants (and is completely competent enough) to be a solider, why can’t ย he just let her?

That doesn’t mean Meira doesn’t have flaws, she does. Like every good heroine should, she’s can be a bit whiny at times, but even so she’s determined, compassionate, and a really complex character. I can’t wait to learn more about her!

WARNING: There’s a love triangle in this book. However, romance does not take priority over the plot. It actually takes a backseat which I very much liked.

Both guys are so nice and they genuinely care for Meira that I can’t hate either of them. Which makes it super hard to choose who I ship more!

I really love Prince Theron, he is so sweet and nice and just an overall good guy. He connects with Meira, they understand each other in such a deep level. He never treats her like she’s beneath him, he treats her like she’s his equal because she is.

“Don’t you want more than this?” I breathe, finally looking up at him.

His eyes are soft, relaxed, but my question makes his softness tense. His lips pull apart and the answer that comes sounds so much like the thoughts whirring through my head that, for a moment, I think maybe I said it. “Every day of my life.”

Now, I don’t know if that’s a good quality for a romantic relationship or just an awesome friendship.ย Whatever happens, I really don’t want them to lose each other.

Mather, I don’t dislike Mather honestly. In the beginning his character annoyed me. But honestly, he’s such a mystery. We don’t know much about his inner thoughts. I am very intrigued by his character and it’s clear he cares a lot about Meira. We shall see, I’m excited to get to know him and Theron in the upcoming books!

I’m pumped to see what happens between these three, whatever the outcome is I just hope there’s no hard feelings.

From previous reviews and from what some of my friends had said, I was expecting some huge twist near the end of the book. And there is one, kind of. I personally saw it coming and had my suspicions even from the beginning.

Overall, solid start to the series! If you’re looking for a super epic and fun fantasy read with a very interesting world and awesome character I very much recommend Snow Like Ashes!

I’m so excited for the next book!

“Someday we will be more than words in the dark.”

4.5 out of 5 stars

โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…ยฝ

Buy Snow Like Ashes

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

snow-likeashes

Letโ€™s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADSย | BLOGLOVINย | WATTPAD

Leave a Reply

