Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

 Cinder by Marissa Meyer 

Genre: Science Fiction, Retelling
Publication Date: 2012

9780312641894_FC

Synopsis:
(from GoodReads)

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

–Possible Spoilers! Read at your own risk!–

THIS. BOOK. WHY HAD I NOT READ IT SOONER?

Okay, well I know why I hadn’t read it sooner. The whole “cyborg” concept, which although extremely cool and unique, made me a bit more hesitant to read it. Cyborg reminded me of the Cybermen from Doctor Who, which I used to have nightmares about as a kid (pathetic, I know) so of course I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into. But cyborg also made me think of Cyborg from Teen Titans and I love Cyborg from Teen Titans. So put aside my hesitancy and read the book. And I’m so glad I did because it was AMAZING! Cinder might very well be one of my all time favorite female heroines! I loved her personality, especially her sassy and sarcastic attitude. Iko is hilarious as well! She’s definitely one of my favorite characters, I want a friend like her.

I was being completely prejudice and I feel really bad about judging Cinder without reading it, I feel so ashamed and I deeply apologize!

Prince Kai pretty cool, he’s pretty much your generic prince, really nice and sweet, handsome and also self-conscious about becoming ruling. I’m still warming up to his character. But I do like him and Cinder together! They had some cute scenes that made me smile.

I didn’t really like Dr. Erland in the beginning, he was very sketchy. But I warmed up to him, he has a dry and sarcastic humor that I really love. I really hope he’s in the future books.

Queen Levana’s a bitch. Enough said.

You know who else is an ungrateful bitch? Adri, goodness gracious that women. I know she’s supposed to be the evil stepmother, but Adri got on my nerves more than usual. Pearl too, ugh. I really did love Peony though, she was such an innocent character and I liked her and Cinder’s relationship a lot!

I’m personally a sucker for fairytale retellings as well. Despite loving Cinderella as a child, I’m honestly not really a fan of the fairytale at all anymore, but I absolutely loved Marissa Meyer’s take on Cinderella, it took everything I disliked in the fairytale and made it better. I’m so glad I read it!

In this world cyborgs are basically regular humans with wired parts added to their bodies. I didn’t really understand why people looked down on cyborgs and thought less of them. I mean their wired parts are like having prosthetic leg in our world. There’s nothing wrong with that. Cinder is still a person, she just happens to have a steel foot and hand.

I wish Marissa Meyer had explored and explained more about cyborgs, I find them extremely interesting. I have so many questions! When do people draw the line? When do you have too many wired parts that you’re no longer considered a human? And who’s to say Iko and other androids aren’t “human”? Iko totally acts like a human! She has so much personality and spunk. Sometimes while reading I would totally forget she was an android. Honestly, what does it even mean to be human anyway? So many questions! I sure hope they’re explored more in the sequels.

The Lunar people seem so interesting! We only really learn about Queen Levana in this book but I really hope we get to explore the Lunar people more! Maybe they’ll get to go to Luna eventually? That’d be awesome!

Overall, a solid start to a series, I didn’t love it, but I do see a ton of potential so I’m very excited to continue the series. Scarlet here I come!

4 out of 5 stars

★★★★

Buy Cinder

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

cinderthe-lunar

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN | WATTPAD

Leave a Reply

