Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin | Book Review

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin

Genre: Contemporary
Publication Date: 2007

317282

Synopsis:
(from GoodReads)

If Naomi had picked tails, she would have won the coin toss.
She wouldn’t have had to go back for the yearbook camera, and she wouldn’t have hit her head on the steps.
She wouldn’t have woken up in an ambulance with amnesia.
She certainly would have remembered her boyfriend, Ace. She might even have remembered why she fell in love with him in the first place.
She would understand why her best friend, Will, keeps calling her “Chief.” She’d get all his inside jokes, and maybe he wouldn’t be so frustrated with her for forgetting things she can’t possibly remember.
She’d know about her mom’s new family.
She’d know about her dad’s fiancée.
She wouldn’t have to spend her junior year relearning all the French she supposedly knew already.
She never would have met James, the boy with the questionable past and the even fuzzier future, who tells her he once wanted to kiss her.
She wouldn’t have wanted to kiss him back.
But Naomi picked heads.

–Possible Spoilers! Read at your own risk!–

“You forget all of it anyway. . . You forget who was cool and who was not, who was pretty, smart, athletic, and not. . . You forget all of them. Even the ones you said you loved, and even the ones you actually did. They’re the last to go. And then once you’ve forgotten enough, you love someone else.”

It took me a while to gather my thoughts about this book. Even now I’m still not exactly sure what I thought about it.

I can’t say that I really liked it, there were some things I liked but there were even more things I didn’t.

The main character, Naomi was a pain to read about. Okay fine, I get that she lost her memories and that really sucks, but that doesn’t give her the right to be so selfish and so unappreciative, especially toward Will and her Dad.

I honestly didn’t particularly like any of the other characters either. Naiomi’s dad was cool. And I liked Will most of the time but even he got on my nerves.

I did like how there were three relationships in this book. I liked how Naomi’s first boyfriend wasn’t her “true love” and how neither was her second relationship. She had to go through a couple of heartbreaks before she found/realized who she really wanted to be with.

Unlike what’s presented with other some contemporary novels, in real life you don’t find your “true” love right away. And you especially don’t find it without experiencing some pain and pain along the way.

The amnesia was very interesting, it was something I had never read before and in that aspect the story was unique to me. There’s something so interesting in the aspect of starting over and reinventing yourself since you don’t even know who that self is anymore.

There were many things left open-ended, although I didn’t love James I do wonder what happened to him. His and Naomi’s relationship ended pretty abruptly. Honestly, I’m still a little confused over it.

Overall, it was an okay read, but I think it could have been way better.

2.5 out of 5 stars

★★½

“It was strange, really. A couple months ago, I had thought I couldn’t live without him. Apparently I could.”

Buy Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

This was my TBR Jar pick for June! My July pick is Attachments by Rainbow Rowell! Which was announced on my July Update which can be read here.

I’m so very excited to read it! I read Fangirl by Rainbow last year and absolutely loved it!

memoirs

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN | WATTPAD

Leave a Reply

