Shadowhunters TV Show Pilot & Episode 2 | Review

Shadowhunters TV Show

MV5BMTAxOTAxMDMxMTZeQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU4MDUzOTA4NTcx._V1_SX214_AL_

Creator: Ed Decter
Channel: FreeForm/ABC Family
Genre: Action, Drama, Fantasy

Plot:
(Written by Emma Wolfe)

Clary Fray is a normal teenager living in Brooklyn with her mother. One day, she discovers that she is descended from a line of Shadowhunters; humans born with angelic blood that fight to protect our world from demons. After her mother is kidnapped, Clary must team up with three Shadowhunters: Jace, Alec and Isabelle and her best friend Simon on a quest to find her mother and recover her past.

I, being a huge Mortal Instruments fan, knew I had to watch the new TV show series adaptation that was coming out. Not many book series get a second adaptation after the first one bombs, so I was very excited to see what the creators would come up with. Even so, I didn’t go in with very high expectations and because of that my experience was better than it would have been if I were expecting perfection.

Was the show the greatest thing I’ve ever watched? No, but I was expecting terrible and instead I got adequate, which honestly? Considering how much I disliked the movie, I’ll take it.

I did have some problems with the show though. I was not a huge fan of the acting. Perhaps it’ll grow on me and get better as the show goes on, but honestly I’m not really a fan of any of the actors. Plus there was some cheesy dialogue that irked me too. And I know the show had a low-budget, but the CGI needs a ton of work. Like, such as, when the warlocks used magic, it was so obviously fake I actually laughed out loud.

That being said, I will continue watching the show (when I can since I don’t have cable). It’s not terrible, but I don’t know, I guess we shall see how it goes. I’m hoping it’ll get better, but I’m not getting my hopes up.

2.5 out of 5 stars
★★½

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN | WATTPAD

Leave a Reply

