These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner | Book Review

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

13138635

Genre: Science Fiction
Publication Date:ย December 2013

Synopsis:
(from Goodreads)

Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive โ€“ alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth.
The Starbound Trilogy: Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.

โ€“Possible Spoilers! Read at your own risk!โ€“

โ€œYou don’t mention death when it’s hovering near someone you love. You don’t want to attract the reaper’s attention.โ€

These Broken Stars was definitely different from what I was expecting. I enjoyed it, but I wouldn’t say I was in crazy in love with it.

The writing is beautiful, it flowed wonderfully and I’m super impressed that this novel was co-written.

I do wish we had more background to the world. We know it’s set in the future. We know there are space ships and that space travel is pretty common, but other than that, nothing. Nothing about history or society (since our main characters are stranded on a strange planet for practically the entire book) and it was pretty frustrating for someone who likes to know those kind of things.

The plot is also very slow, it has sprinkles of mystery, which I loved. However, These Broken Stars is very much a survival based novel. This would have been fine if I liked the characters, but Lilac just made me so mad for most of the book. I hated how rude she was to Tarver, I hated how she thought she had to act like a complete bitch to be considered “strong”. Like um, honey, no. Just no. She was just so infuriating! I’ve never wanted to slap a character as much as I wanted to slap Lilac LaRoux. She does get a bit better near the end though.

It was different with Tarver, I absolutely loved Tarver. He’s honest and such a gentleman, but also doesn’t put up with Lilac’s crap. Most of all, Tarver is just plain likable.

Tarver and Lilac’s relationship is very love-hate. They start out hating each other, but eventually they learn to trust in each other,ย  they build a friendship, which then turns into something more. I loved the slow build of their relationship. we as the reader are 99% sure these two characters are going to get together, but the authors never rushed anything which I appreciated.

The ending was crazy! I’m still feeling a bit confused as to what exactly was going on and it did feel a bit rush, but I liked it. The ending was probably my favorite part of the entire book.

Overall, a well written and unique novel, I just personally wanted a little more space and bit more action.

Onto the next book, eventually.

3.5 out 5 stars

โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…ยฝ

Buy These Broken Stars

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

these broken starsthese broken stars

Letโ€™s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADSย | BLOGLOVINย | WATTPAD

One thought on “These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner | Book Review

Leave a Reply

