Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Crown_of_Midnight_cover

Genre: Fantasy
Publication Date: August, 2013

Synopsis:
(from Goodreads)

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.
Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.
Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

–Possible Spoilers! Read at your own risk!–

“Some things you hear with your ears. Others, you hear with your heart.”

Crown of Midnight was everything that I wanted from Throne of Glass. There was more action (YES), twists and turns, some that broke my heart and others I didn’t even see coming, more magic, and an assassin actually being a badass assassin.

“But death was her curse and her gift, and death had been her good friend these long, long years.”

A huge improvement from Throne of Glass in my opinion. Celaena still annoys me, but I’ll admit she’s slowly growing on me, or maybe I’m just getting used to her self-centeredness. She shows a more vulnerable side to her in this novel, which I absolutely loved. She’s still little-miss-perfect and everyone still loves her, but I hope she starts showing a more flawed and broken side especially after that ending.

Dorian is my absolute favorite. I love him so, so much. His character development is absolutely amazing, he starts off as kind of the one-dimensional cliché player Prince character, but he’s grown into so much more. He’s captured my heart since the very beginning and he will continue to have it until the end of time. I just wish so badly he’d stand up to his asshole of a father. If anyone is going to take down the King of Adarlan I want it to be Dorian Havilliard. I’m loving the direction his character is going in, and I’m desperately hoping we get more chapters and scenes from him.

I don’t have a problem with Chaol. I don’t hate or love him. I do think he worries too much though. I get that he cares about Celaena, but COME ON, she’s a fucking assassin for fucks sake. Stop. Sometimes I just don’t get him, he says he’s loyal to the King and Dorian, but then he says he loves Celaena more? He says he loves Celaena, but then freaks out when he finds out things about her and that she *gasp* kills people. Everyone else seems to really love him, but I don’t know. Maybe I’m just in the minority in this one.

The King of Adarlan is starting to become a much more interesting character. In the first novel I honestly didn’t feel the threat of him, all I got was major asshole vibes, but not “I’m a terrifying, psychotic, killing machine”. However, in Crown of Midnight he takes a huge turn from generic evil guy into something much more sinister and complex. I’ve always had a soft spot for the evil characters, but the King of Adarlan is terrifying and the absolute worst.

“Then Celaena and the King of Adarlan smiled at each other, and it was the most terrifying thing Dorian had ever seen.”

One of the things I really love about this series is the relationships. Not really the romantic ones (more on that later), but the friendships. I loved Celaena and Nehemia and I loved Chaol and Dorian’s friendship. It hurt me so much to see them fighting over Celaena and I really hope their friendship wins out in the aftermath of the series.

“Because, you remind me of how the world ought to be. What the world can be.”

Although this series doesn’t focus much on romantic relationship, which makes me very happy, it’s still there and it’s a love triangle.

The truth is I don’t hate love triangles, sure it sucks when your ship doesn’t sail and when your favorite character gets hurt, but they don’t turn me away when choosing a book. As long as the love triangle is don’t right. And the love triangle is okay. Both boys seem to really care for Celaena, but I don’t know. Whatever happens, I hope they all find happiness.

I can already tell my ship is sinking and that makes me a little sad. Maybe it’s for the best, I think he can do better than her anyway, but I just want so badly for him to be happy.

“It was like coming home or being born or suddenly finding an entire half of herself that had been missing.”

And gosh, that ending. That ending was crazy. I have to admit I saw the big reveal coming, but there were so many other amazing twists that shocked me and I loved it so much!

The world building in this series is amazing, I cannot wait to explore more of this world! I’m especially curious about Terrasen!

Overall, after being not-so blown away over Throne of Glass I’m glad I picked up the sequel. This series is very entertaining and I cannot wait to see what’s in store for Heir of Fire. More Dorian I hope.

4 out 5 stars

★★★★

“To escape death, she’d become death.”

Buy Crown of Midnight

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Buy Throne of Glass

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

crownaaa

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN | WATTPAD

 

2 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review

  1. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the sequel. I think the first book is definitely the weakest of the series, but the second book just jumps into the action and really determines the course that this series goes in. Beautiful review! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much! I’m taking a little break before starting Heir of Fire, but I’m super excited to dive back into the series 🙂
      Fingers crossed for more Dorian 😉

Leave a Reply

