Sea Spell (The Waterfire Saga #4) by Jennifer Donnelly | Book Review

Sea Spell by Jennifer Donnelly

20646696

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Publication Date: June 14th, 2016

Synopsis:
(from Goodreads)

At the end of Dark Tide, Book 3 in the Waterfire Saga, Astrid leaves her mermaid friends to confront her ancestor, Orfeo, the evil force behind the rise of the monster Abbadon. Orfeo possesses one of the six talismans that the merls need in order to keep the monster locked up forever. But without the ability to songcast, how will Astrid be able to defeat the most powerful mage in history? Meanwhile, Serafina and her Black Fins train goblin troops for battle against her uncle Vallerio’s death riders. Will Sera ever see her beloved home–and her beloved Mahdi–again, or will the Volneros take over the mer realms while Orfeo takes on the gods themselves? Nothing less than the fate of the underwater world is at stake in this breathtaking finale.

–Possible Spoilers! Read at your own risk!–

“Just because you failed today doesn’t mean you’ve failed forever. Falling down doesn’t mean anything. It’s staying down that does you in.”

Sea Spell was a great finale to a series that I ended up liking way more than I thought I would. It was a conclusion that was satisfying, but still left a few unanswered questions. Which I surprisingly am okay with.

“A little while ago, I lost faith in myself. It nearly did me in. You helped me swim back from the brink. Now it’s my turn to help Becca. Because if the six of us lose faith in one another, we’ve lost everything.”

My favorite aspect of this series will always be the relationships. Not necessarily the romantic ones, those I found a bit rushed and wasn’t really attached to, but the relationship between friends.

Sera, Neela, Ling, Becca, Ava, and Astrid, I loved their friendship, their sisterhood so, so much. Each girl grows up to become strong, independent women. They all had to make many tough decisions, but in the end I am so proud of each and every one of them.

“Because it’s time, Des,” she finally said.
“Time for what?”
“Time to play my uncle’s game like a queen, not a pawn.”

Serafina especially, she gets most of the development since she is the main, main character. She started off the series confused and afraid. My heart was breaking for her, but she pushes past all her insecurity and in the end becomes such a strong person, a strong leader. A real queen, and gosh I am so happy for her.

“Was love enough? Was it stronger than her uncle’s brutality, his just for power, his hatred? Was it stronger than fear? Stronger than death?”

The theme of love has always been so prominent in this series. It’s a story about love in all different shapes and sizes. A story with love between friends, allies, and family. And what it means to really risk it all for those you love.

The battle for Cerulea and the one against Abbandon were so much fun to read about! It was heart pounding and had me at the edge of my seat. I couldn’t flipping pages. Absolutely epic and so thrilling.

Oh and don’t worry, the pun game is still going strong. For example, *clears throat* “Holy silt!”
Ahhh, a book looking to catch my pun loving heart.

The epilogue leaves room for spin offs and I’m super excited to see if Jennifer Donnelly decides to expand on this world.

Overall, a really great conclusion! I ended up liking this series way more than I expected and I’m kind of sad to see it go. If you’re looking for a fun, quick, magical, fantasea read with great friendships I definitely recommend giving this series a chance!

“Where there’s life, there’s hope.”

4 out of 5 stars

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

Buy Sea Spell:

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Start at the beginning!Β Buy Deep Blue:

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Capture

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADSΒ | BLOGLOVINΒ | WATTPAD

2 thoughts on “Sea Spell (The Waterfire Saga #4) by Jennifer Donnelly | Book Review

Leave a Reply

