P.S. I Like You by Kasie West | Spoiler Free Book Review

P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

25486998

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publication Date: July 26th, 2016

Synopsis:
(from Goodreads)

What if the person you were falling for was a total mystery?
While Lily is spacing out in Chemistry one day, she picks up her pencil and scribbles a line from one of her favorite songs on the desk. The next day, someone else has written back to her on the desk! Soon enough Lily and the mystery student are exchanging notes, and lyrics, and even sharing secrets. When Lily finds out that her anonymous pen pal is a guy, she’s flustered — and kind of feels like she’s falling for him. She and her best friend set out to unravel the identity of the letter writer — but when the truth is revealed, the guy is the LAST person Lily could have ever imagined it to be. Now that Lily knows the truth, can she untangle her feelings and gather the courage to listen to her heart?

–Spoiler Free!–

“Words brought us together though they almost kept us apart.
You trusted me with your secrets and then you stole my heart.”

This book was so adorable. I cannot stop smiling at all the cuteness.

“Who are you talking to?”
“Myself.”
“You do that a lot.”
“I know. I’m the only one who understands me.”

I want so badly to rate it 5 stars because of the ending alone, but alas, I cannot look past how upset the main character made me. I found Lily to be really funny and awkward. I loved her passion for music and her relationship with her family. In the beginning I really loved her, she reminded me a little of myself–an awkward person who talked to themselves occasionally, didn’t mind being alone and loved indie music–but she’s just so judgmental and it was a huge turn off for me.

“I was fine alone. Sometimes I preferred it that way.”

Especially toward a certain someone and it made me so mad because I loved him. I loved him so, so much. Gosh, he’s a total sweetheart. The last third of the book had me swooning and my heart fluttering with full on excitement.

Kasie West has always been one of my guilty pleasure reads. If anyone else besides her had written this book I most likely wouldn’t have picked it up or put it so high on my to-be-read pile.

But with her, I can’t explain it. You’ll definitely have to read one of her books to really understand what I mean. They cast a spell on you. Suddenly your normal reviewer mind just shuts off and you return to being that casual reader that reads a book simply for pure pleasure.

P.S. I Like You, The Distance Between Us, and On the Fence (still haven’t read The Fill-In Boyfriend yet, shhhh) are books that are a ton of fun. They’re cute, they’re funny, and they’re for pure entertainment. Which at the end of the day, is something everyone needs once in a while.

Will this book win a ton of literary awards? Probably not. But I don’t think it’s a book that sets out to do that either. It’s a book that makes you feel happy.

Overall, I definitely recommend you check out Kasie West’s novels! My favorite is The Distance Between Us, but P.S. I Like You was so much fun to read as well! When you feel yourself succumbing into a dreaded reading slump, I assure you they’ll pull you out of it!

3.5 out of 5 stars

★★★½

Buy P.S. I Like You

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

aaaaa

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN | WATTPAD

3 thoughts on “P.S. I Like You by Kasie West | Spoiler Free Book Review

  1. hey! I really love Kasie West’s books too. I haven’t read this one yet though but I loved your review, it just made me even more excited to read it than I already was.

Leave a Reply

