My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins | Book Review

My True Love Gave To Me edited by Stephanie Perkins

20309175

Genre: Young Adult,Β Anthology
Publication Date: October 14th, 2014

Synopsis:
(from Goodreads)

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins. Whether you enjoy celebrating Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or New Year’s there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

–Spoiler Free!–

I don’t read many anthologies and for good reason too. It’s strange experiencing so many different writing styles contained in just one novel. But thankfully I ended up enjoying all the stories in this one. Some were obviously better than others, but all of them were a lot of fun to read!

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…/5

Or also known as: How to Fall in Love With Two Characters in Only Twenty Two Pages. This story was so cute, I loved it so much! Rainbow Rowell is such an amazing writer, Mags and Noel were wonderfully written and developed characters. I fell in love with them instantly and I shipped them so hard.
Such a great story to start off with, but it did set the bar pretty high with my expectations for the other stories.
I never wanted it to end. I wanted to stay with Mags and Noel forever.

“You’re a kaleidoscope. You change every time I look away.”

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link
β˜…β˜…β˜…/5

This story was a bit…strange. It started off a bit slow and confusing, but I actually ended up liking it! It was very magical and nice.

“We all lose,” says an acerbic voice. “We all love and we all lose and we go on loving just the same.”

Angels in the Snow by Matt De La PeΓ±a
β˜…β˜…β˜…/5

This one was kind of sad, I’ll admit I teared up a little, but I still liked it. Plus there was a cat, cats are my weakness.

“Sometimes I feel liked a shook-up bottle of soda. Like, I have all those passion that wants to explode, but don’t know where to aim it yet.”

Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han
β˜…β˜…β˜…/5

I liked this one, it was unique and original, but it was way too short and open ended for me to really fall in love with it. I don’t know, I just wish it were longer. We didn’t really get to know any of the characters, which was sad because Natalie, Flynn, and Lars seem like character I could fall for.

“Flynn looks up at the sky, at the North Star above us. Polaris, it’s called. A fixed point, more accurate than any compass. You always know where you are when you look up at it. Home.”

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…/5

Okay how does she do it? How does she constantly make such adorable and swoon worthy characters? I absolutely loved North, he’s such a sweetheart! He’s funny and kind and caring and I’m already swooning. I loved his and Marigold’s relationship. They’re so cute. This story was so cute. My poor little heart. I’m dead.
Their story continues in Summer Days and Summer Nights, another anthology edited by Stephanie Perkins. That one was super fabulous as well.

“That you still don’t realize I’m willing to do anything, anything to stay in your company. You don’t need to pay me.”

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan
β˜…β˜…β˜…/5

Hooray for an LGBT romance! This one was really cute, but I didn’t really feel much connection to the characters. This story was definitely one of the shorter ones in the bunch, only about sixteen pages. Not much happens, but still, it was sweet and nice dealing a bit with family issues. The ending left me feeling hopeful.

“He says presents aren’t important, but I think they are–not because of how much they cost, but for the opportunity they provide to say I understand you.”

Krampuslauf by Holly Black
β˜…β˜…β˜…/5

Ahhh, this story was a lot of much fun! I really liked all of the characters and could relate a little with the main one. I absolutely loved the slight magical elements added into it, and the ending was really nice and satisfying.

“He punished the naughty and rewarded the nice. Just like someone else who wore a lot of red. Scramble the letters in S-A-N-T-A and you get S-A-T-A-N.”

What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…Β½/5

SOPHIE AND RUSSELL ARE SO CUTE. As someone who communicates mostly in sarcasm, their humor and banter left me feeling oh so happy and giddy. Their relationship was so adorable and I never wanted to leave them. The ending was nice and left me hopeful for their future.

“Sophie wondered when was she going to learn that lots of things seem like a good idea but a small amount of analysis might uncover that such seemingly good ideas are, in fact, intrinsically faulty.”

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire
β˜…β˜…β˜…/5

Another cute one! Kind of cheesy, sad at parts, relating to our main character’s family life, but it was still a nice story. Vaughn was a delight! I loved reading about all the pranks he pulled.

“Soon enough, people forget you altogether. So you do things that make them remember.”

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…/5

This one was so adorable! I absolutely loved Ben, not only is he a complete sweetheart who genuinely loves Christmas, he can also cook. Hello dream husband. Loved his relationship and banter with Maria, those two are really good together. And while the story was super cute and fun, it also dealt with family and relationship issues that had me tearing up a bit.

“If you were a food, you’d be a gingerbread cookie. Spicy enough to keep life interesting, but with just enough sweetness to balance it out.”

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…/5

Star of Bethlehem was such a heartwarmingly cute read! I do wish it were a bit longer and that we had more background information on the characters, but overall I really enjoyed this one and I’m hopeful for Lydia and Ethan’s future.

“But I was not in the mood to hear what I couldn’t do. The list had been too extensive for too long.”

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
β˜…β˜…β˜…
β˜…Β½/5

This one was so magical! I loved the Dreamer, I loved all the magical gifts that he gave Neve. Laini has such a wonderful and whimsical kind of writing style. The story was very unique and interesting. I’ll definitely be checking out more of her works in the future.

“I will free you, and I will lift you. I will learn a thousand ways to make you laugh. Your smiles will be the honey in my mead, your enchantment my delight.”

3.5 out of 5 stars

β˜…β˜…β˜…Β½

BuyΒ My True Love Gave to Me

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

–

Screen Shot 2016-12-25 at 12.45.49 PM.png

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADSΒ | BLOGLOVINΒ | WATTPAD

Β 

Leave a Reply

