Top 10 Favorite Books of 2016

The end of the year is near! Now it’s time for one of my favorite (and least favorite) post of the year: top favorite books.

I have honestly read so many great books this year, but here are ten of my absolute favorites! Not counting rereads of course because then it’d just all be Percy Jackson.

1 ) Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

13541054

Did I surprise you? Probably not. Lady Midnight was so, so amazing. I wish I could be more original, but I am complete and utter shadowhunter trash and not even remotely ashamed of it. Still, the character were absolutely wonderful in this one. Cassie has grown so much as a writer and I’m oh so proud of her.

“When you love someone, they become a part of who you are. They’re in everything you do. They’re in the air you breathe and the water you drink and the blood in your veins.”

2) A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

9780765376466A Gathering of Shadows Final

Another thing that I am; complete and utter Kell Maresh trash. I would go to the ends of the world for him. I love him, and I loved this wonderfully, magical book. Victoria is a brilliant author and this world she has created is so intricately beautiful. I want to live in Red London. I will never stop recommending this series, so if you haven’t picked up a Victoria Schwab novel yet, please go do it!

“Kell would say it was impossible. What a useless word, in a world with magic.”

3 ) Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

220px-aristotle_and_dante_discover_the_secrets_of_the_universe_cover

If someone were to ask me to define “perfection” I would shove this book into their face. If I had to recommend one contemporary book for someone to read, Aristotle and Dante would be it. This book deserves all of the stars in the universe, and if you haven’t read it yet, I don’t know how else to convince you.

“Another secret of the universe: Sometimes pain was like a storm that came out of nowhere. The clearest summer could end in a downpour. Could end in lightning and thunder.”

4 ) Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

simon-vs-the-homo-sapien-agenda-book-review-pic-1-by-casey-carlisle

I wasn’t sure about this book going into it, but man is it one of the cutest contemporary novels I’ve ever read. I loved it. The main character Simon is hilarious and so are his friends. The romance is so adorable, I fell in love with Simon’s relationship with Blue. This book made me realize how little LGBT novels I read and how I want to read more.

“People really are like house with vast rooms and tiny windows. And maybe it’s a good thing, the way we never stop surprising each other.”

5 ) The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

10626594

Two words: SEAN. KENDRICK. I love that boy and I love Puck. Their relationship was super cute, but most of all their relationship with their horses had me tearing up a bit. This was my first Maggie Stiefvater book and it did not disappoint! The writing is beautiful and magical. It’s no question that Stiefvater is a fantastic writer. I’m looking forward to reading more of her books.

“There are moments that you’ll remember for the rest of your life and there are moments that you think you’ll remember for the rest of your life, and it’s not often they turn out to be the same moment.”

6 ) The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

1879898323308084

Another great fantasy novel with amazing characters! I love Shazi, she’s stubborn and fierce, but never did I find her too annoying. And Khalid, don’t even get me started on him. He is just so *swoons*

“My soul sees its equal in you.”

7 ) Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

18189606

I don’t think this book will be a book for everyone. There isn’t much of a plot per say, but I completely related and fell for the main character; Emily. We have a lot in common and that’s why Since You’ve Been Gone is on my all time favorites list. It’s a beautiful coming-of-age story with wonderful characters. Emily, Frank, Dawn, and Collins, they were all so great. I had a lot of fun with this book, words can’t even begin to describe how much I loved it.

“Real friends are the ones you can count on no matter what.
The ones who go into the forest to find you and bring you home.
And real friends never have to tell you that they’re your friends.”

8 ) Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

19351043

THIS BOOK IS THE CUTEST THING EVER. Have I said that a lot? Well, I abosolutely fell in love with this story. I think Rainbow Rowell’s blurb is perfect, it is full of humor and heart. It was funny, I was smiling at practically every page, but it was also mysterious and a little sad. The ending had me wishing for more. Definitely recommend this wonderful graphic novel! I love Noelle Stevenson’s art style.

18333602-_sx540_

9 ) Angelfall by Susan Ee

158638321784911218500665

RAFFE! I’ve always had such a bad streak with paranormal novels about angels (*blatantly throws shade at Halo*), but oh my freaking god did I love this entire trilogy. Penryn was an amazing main character, tough and flawed. I loved her complex relationship with her family and I absolutely loved her and Raffe’s relationship. 10/10 would recommend! It’s a paranormal story that did not disappoint.

“I never thought about it before, but I’m proud to be human. We’re ever so flawed. We’re frail, confused, violent, and we struggle with so many issues. But all in all, I’m proud to be a Daughter of Man.”

10 ) Eona by Alison Goodman

726169911736997

Together Eon and Eona were both so good, Alison Goodman sure can tell an amazing story. It was complex and well written and had such an amazing cast of complex and flawed characters. I loved Eona and not even a little ashamed to say Lord Ido. It was one heck of an amazing ride. I recommend these books to any fellow fantasy and dragon lover.

“Men were always quick to believe in the madness of women.”

↠ ↠ ↠

You know what the best part about my list is? Most of these books weren’t even released in 2016. It seems like I’m always behind, but oh well!

I’d love to hear some of your favorite books of the year! I’m making it easy, you can choose more than one. 😉

↠ ↠ ↠

Screen Shot 2016-12-29 at 1.18.59 PM.png

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN | WATTPAD

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Favorite Books of 2016

Leave a Reply

