Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare | Book Review

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

28954137

Page Count: 624
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Publication Date: February 21, 2017

Synopsis:
(from Goodreads)

Simon Lewis has been a human and a vampire, and now he is becoming a Shadowhunter. But the events of City of Heavenly Fire left him stripped of his memories, and Simon isn’t sure who he is anymore. He knows he was friends with Clary, and that he convinced the total goddess Isabelle Lightwood to go out with him…but he doesn’t know how. And when Clary and Isabelle look at him, expecting him to be a man he doesn’t remember…Simon can’t take it.
So when the Shadowhunter Academy reopens, Simon throws himself into this new world of demon-hunting, determined to find himself again. His new self. Whomever this new Simon might be.
But the Academy is a Shadowhunter institution, which means it has some problems. Like the fact that non-Shadowhunter students have to live in the basement. And that differences—like being a former vampire—are greatly looked down upon. At least Simon is trained in weaponry—even if it’s only from hours of playing D&D.

–Possible Spoilers! Read at your own risk!–

Such a nice collection of novellas, it felt so great to be back in the Shadowhunter world. I’d forgotten how much I missed it. I do desperately wish I had read this before reading Lady Midnight though, I feel like I need to go reread that now.

Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy (#1) | ★★★½/5

“He thought of his remembrance of Jordan, thought of how it hurt to even look at Isabelle and Clary. Without memory, they were lost. And nobody wanted someone they loved to be lost.”

The Mortal Instruments cast is still as great as ever, Simon and Jace’s new friendship is such a delight, and I am so in love with George Lovelace. He is absolutely wonderful.

The Lost Herondale (#2) | ★★★★/5

“Like all Herondales, his ability to love without measure, without end, was both his great gift and his great curse.”

Oh, Herondales. You sassy mofos who love too hard and feel too much, I love you.

And ughhh, that ending. My poor heart. Clary and Simon are literal friendship goals, despite the memory loss. If they don’t become parabatai I might cry.

“For the first time, he looked at her, and she wasn’t a stranger, she was Clary—his friend. His family. The girl he’d sworn always to protect. The girl he loved as fiercely as he loved himself.”

The Whitechapel Fiend (#3) | ★★★★★/5

“There were few people in the world who understood how much Will and Jem had loved each other, did love each other, and how much Will missed him. But Tessa did.”

WILLIAM. TESSA. JAMES. This story had me giddy with laughter and tears and happiness. Oh, how I had missed my Infernal Devices babies so much. Will with his beautiful self, delightful sarcasm and open and clear love for his friends and family. Tessa with her wisdom and wit. Jem with his constant support and kindness. James, adorable James, who I know I’m going to love. It was so nice to check in with Gabreil and Cecily. Jace was an an absolute delight as well, his scenes with Simon were so hilarious. Oh those dark Herondale’s, they will be the death of me.

I love them all so much.

Nothing but Shadows (#4) | ★★★★★/5

“Do not let any of them tell you who you are. You are the flame that cannot be put out. You are the star that cannot be lost. You are who you have always been, and that is enough and more than enough. Anyone who looks at you and sees darkness is blind.”

This story made me even more excited for the Last Hours. Oh my word, I love James Herondale so, so much. Okay, fine, who am I kidding, I love all Herondales. HOW ARE THEY ALL SO PERFECT??
He’s different from Will, more awkward and self conscious, but still completely wonderful and selfless when it comes to his friends and family.

It’s so cute seeing Will as a father, he really hasn’t changed a bit, but his clear love for his son is so cute and sweet, it brings tears to my eyes. And that scene with Jem and James? I was crying so hard, it was so adorable and beautiful. Jem is so wonderful.

Matthew is of course a lovable delight, so excited to get to know Thomas and Christopher as well!

The Evil We Love (#5) | ★★★★/5

“Love?” Michael smiled down at his hands. “Love, real love, is being seen. Being known. Knowing the ugliest part of someone, and loving them anyway. And . . . I guess I think two people in love become something else, something more than the sum of their parts, you know? That it must be like you’re creating a new world that exists just for the two of you. You’re gods of your own pocket universe.”

I have such mixed feelings when it comes to Robert Lightwood. He can make me so angry at times, but this novella really had me feeling a bit bad for him. His treatment toward his best friend Michael was definitely not okay though, and I refuse to forgive him for it. Michael Wayland deserved all the happiness in the world. I do however, wish him all the best in reconnecting with his family. I think he’s really trying this time, and it’s clear he loves his children. I hope we get more scenes with the Lightwood family in Lord of Shadows.

The novella was nice, if a bit slow. It wasn’t my favorite, but it was interesting learning more about the Circle and see how manipulative Valentine was.

Oh, and I of course loved the Sizzy moments!

Pale Kings and Princes (#6) | ★★★★½/5

“This is how a faerie loves: with her whole body and soul.
This is how a faerie loves: with destruction.
This is how a faerie loves: with a gift.”

This novella just reminded me how much I really hate Shadowhunters sometimes. It makes me so angry how they treat Downworlders, how they treat Helen Blackthorn like she’s the scum of the Earth. Poor Helen, she deserves so much better, she deserves to be happy with Aline, she deserves the world, and so does her brother Mark.

People are the worst. I am so mad.

I did absolutely love learning more about Helen and Mark’s parentage and Andrew Blackthorn’s day at the Seelie Court, even if it made my heart break into a million pieces. So tragic and depressing.

The only happiness I felt was during the Sizzy scenes. They are so adorable it hurts.

“And I also know that loving someone—even when it’s scary, even when there are consequences—is never the wrong thing to do.”

Bitter of Tongue (#7) | ★★★★½/5

“Helen, Julian, Livia, Tiberius, Drusilla, Octavian. And Emma,” said Mark. “You see? I have not forgotten. Every night, no matter what has happened during the day, no matter if I am torn and bloodied or so bone-tired I wish I were dead, I look up at the stars and I give each star a brother’s name or a sister’s face. I will not sleep until I remember every one. The stars will burn out before I forget.”

I love Mark Blackthorn. I would die for Mark Blackthorn. What a precious, kind, selfless and beautiful soul. I loved him in Lady Midnight and this novella just multiplied my love for him by infinite. I love him. I love him. I love him.

The Blackthorn family make my heart ache. Mark’s love for his family is so palpable you can feel it.

Bitter of Tongue was absolutely heartbreaking in every way possible. Mark Blackthorn deserves all the happiness in the world.

Also, someone needs to wrap Simon in bubble wrap, he is a hazard walking on two legs, but we love him anyway.

The Fiery Trial (#8) | ★★★★½/5

“Entreat me not to leave thee,
Or return from following after thee—
For whither thou goest, I will go,
And where thou lodgest, I will lodge.
Thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God.
Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried.
The Angel do so to me, and more also,
If aught but death part thee and me.”

I love Clary and Simon so much. I live for their friendship, I love every scene with them together. They are the perfect parabatai team, their friendship is eternal; just like Will and Jem. I didn’t really understand the purpose of the trial by water though? Not sure what it accomplished, but it was cool to see Simon hallucinating about Jace, their weird friendship is so cute.

Emma and Julian are so adorable. Again, wish I read this before Lady Midnight, but Julian is still such a precious baby. I just want to hug him.

Born to Endless Night (#9) | ★★★★★/5

“It was a lesson, Magnus thought, to love while you could, love what was fragile and beautiful and imperiled. Nobody was guaranteed forever.”

OKAY THIS ONE WAS SO CUTE. I could not stop laughing and smiling and crying because it was that adorable and cute. It had my giddy with absolute happiness. Malec is the cutest thing ever I’m so happy for them and so proud for how far their relationship has come.

Simon and Alec’s friendship is so adorable and cute, a team that can deal with Jace’s sarcasm and adorable bullshit. And don’t even get me started on the Lightwood family in baby mode. It was so hilarious and precious, it made me see Robert and Maryse in a new light. It makes me so happy to see how they’re trying and how accepting they were of Max. When they offered the family name for him? I died.

I love Alec Lightwood, it was a rocky relationship at the start, but I love him so, so much. He’s so selfless and protective of his friends and family. He is beautiful inside and out and I am so proud of him.

I loved every minute reading this novella.

Angels Twice Descending (#10) | ★★★★½/5

“The point wasn’t that you tried to live forever; the point was that you lived, and did everything you could to live well. The point was the choices you made and the people you loved.”

No words, this one was so beautiful and emotional to read. No one but Cassandra Clare could make me feel this way, I both loved and hated it so much.

Buy Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 7.46.47 PM

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN | WATTPAD

3 thoughts on “Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare | Book Review

  1. I just read this one, too, and I’m kicking myself for not reading it before Lady Midnight as well! Oh well, I was looking for an excuse to reread Lady Midnight… 😅

Leave a Reply

