The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater | Book Review

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

17675462

Page Count: 409
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Publication Date: September 18, 2012

Synopsis:
(from Goodreads)

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”
It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.
Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.
His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.
But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.
For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

–Possible Spoilers! Read at your own risk!–

“She wasn’t interested in telling other people’s futures. She was interested in going out and finding her own.”

Maggie Stiefvater’s writing is so beautiful and magical and amazing and I could read her books all day long and still be completely entranced with the words that she writes.

I am so in love with her writing.

I finally see what people mean when they rave about this cast of characters because the characters are absolutely amazing. It’s definitely more of a character driven story, not much of the plot happens until like halfway through the novel, but I still had a ton of fun learning about the characters and their adventure searching for Glendower.

“They were always walking away from him. But he never seemed able to walk away from them.”

The Raven Boys are so wonderful, I am slowly falling in love with all of them. I completely adored the friendship between them and Blue. Gansey is the biggest sweetheart, he cares so much for all of his friends, and he would literally do anything for them. It hurts me so much when he thinks they don’t care for him as much as he cares for them.

“Gansey had once told Adam that he was afraid most people didn’t know how to handle Ronan. What he meant by this was that he was worried that one day someone would fall on Ronan and cut themselves.”

Ronan is amazing, all sharp edges and dark mystery, but you can tell he cares so much for his friends. It’s so adorable how takes care of and looks after Chainsaw. He’s hilarious and snarky, and there’s still so much mystery surrounding him, so much we do not know about his past and his father, but I absolutely cannot wait to learn more about him.

Noah, my sweet and adorable child, I adored him. He doesn’t really get as much time (*ahem* for obvious reasons) as the other characters, but I still love him; he’s so awkward and cute and I just want to give him the biggest hug. This boy deserves so much better.

“When Gansey was polite, it made him powerful. When Adam was polite, he was giving power away.”

Adam at times frustrated me, but I do see where he is coming from. It makes me sad how he treats Gansey sometimes (but come on Gansey can be a bit condescending), but I think his character is extremely well written, he’s hardworking and intelligent. He’s been through so much in his life, and experienced so many things that no one should have to experience. I cannot wait to see how he grows in later books.

“She recognized the strange happiness that came from loving something without knowing why you did, that strange happiness that was sometimes so big that it felt like sadness.”

Blue is so lovely, I love how strong and eccentric her is. I love her crazy and weird little family at 300 Fox Way. The family dynamic between her, Maura, Calla, and Persephone is so supportive and wonderful. Plus her mom and all of her mom’s friends are literally psychics and that is so cool.

“Arbores loqui latine. The trees speak Latin.”

Overall, such a solid start to a series. Maggie’s writing is the best, and I can already tell this is going to be a new favorite series of mine. I want to be surrounded by the magic that is Cabeswater, I want to be able to speak with trees, I want to surround myself with these characters and their infinite curiosity and wonder.

But I am just so scared and confused and that ending left me with so many questions, and I have no clue how any of this is going to pan out. I feel so invested in all of these characters, and I would be forever crushed if anything bad happens to them. I just want them all to be happy, I would give them the world if I could.

I am so happy that despite all the hype surrounding the series, I still decided to pick it up because it was definitely not a disappointment at all. These wonderful, beautiful, magical, and mysterious Raven boys. I cannot wait to read the rest!

“My words are unerring tools of destruction, and I’ve come unequipped with the ability to disarm them.”

4.5 out of 5 stars

★★★★½/5

Buy The Raven Boys:

Book Depository
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

image1

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN WATTPAD

One thought on “The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater | Book Review

Leave a Reply

